Module 6. Open Content Providers

This page provides you with a list of open educational resources (OER) for creating, printing, and sharing open e-books and textbooks.

You can share copyrighted materials under an open license

Open educational resources (OER) are made available from many different sources. This list, though not exhaustive, includes some of the more prominent providers.

Explore these resources to find material that will be useful for you in your classroom, taking note of what licenses resources are released under.

Open Textbooks & Curricula

  1. CK-12 - http://www.ck12.org
  2. Saylor - http://saylor.org
  3. Boundless - http://boundless.com
  4. Connexions / OpenStax Library - http://cnx.org
  5. Textbook Equity - http://textbookequity.org/ 
  6. BC Campus - http://open.bccampus.ca
  7. Wiki Books - http://en.wikibooks.org
  8. Odell Education - http://odelleducation.com/ 
  9. Cool4Ed - http://www.cool4ed.org/ 
  10. Merlot - http://www.merlot.org/merlot/index.htm 

Search Engines

  1. OER Commons - https://www.oercommons.org/ 
  2. Creative Commons Search - http://search.creativecommons.org
  3. Google Advanced Search - https://www.google.com/advanced_search *
  4. Google Advanced Image Search - http://www.google.com/advanced_image_search *
  5. Yahoo Image Search - http://images.search.yahoo.com **

* Be sure to set usage rights to "free to use share or modify".

** Be sure to click the arrow in the top left and select “Labeled for Reuse” in the bottom left.

Text Content Providers

  1. Wikipedia - http://en.wikipedia.org - open encyclopedia
  2. Simple English Wikipedia - http://simple.wikipedia.org  - simplified encyclopedia
  3. Project Gutenberg - http://www.gutenberg.org - public domain texts
  4. Wiki Source - http://en.wikisource.org - source materials
  5. Wiki Quote - http://en.wikiquote.org - quotations

Media Content Providers

  1. Wikimedia Commons - http://commons.wikimedia.org - open media
  2. Digital Public Library of America - http://dp.la/ - public domain works
  3. LibriVox - http://librivox.org - public domain audio books
  4. Photo Pin - http://photopin.com - open photos from Flickr
  5. Internet Archive - https://archive.org - public domain works
  6. U.S. Army - http://www.army.mil/media/ - public domain images
  7. Flickrhttp://www.flickr.com/creativecommons/ - creative commons images
  8. Vimeo - http://vimeo.com/creativecommons - creative commons videos
  9. Creative Commons Music - https://creativecommons.org/legalmusicforvideos - various creative commons music sites
  10. Jamendo - http://jamendo.com - creative commons music
  11. Animal Photos - http://animalphotos.info - animal photos
  12. Library of Congress - http://www.loc.gov/ - public domain works
  13. Internet Archive  - https://archive.org - public domain works
  14. U.S. Fish and Wildlife Digital Library - http://digitalmedia.fws.gov/ - public domain works (mostly)

Open Courses

  1. Lumen Learning - http://www.lumenlearning.com/courses 
  2. Wikiversity - http://en.wikiversity.org

Tools

These tools are not technically open educational resources, but they can be used to aide you in creating, remixing, and sharing open educational resources.

  1. Google Drive - http://drive.google.com - write and create collaboratively
  2. Rewordify - http://rewordify.com - simplify difficult texts
  3. Text Compactor - http://textcompactor.com - summarize texts
  4. Simplish - http://www.simplish.org - simplify and summarize texts
  5. Open Text Summarizer - http://www.splitbrain.org/services/ots - summarizes nonfiction texts
  6. Doceo Center Common Core Explorer Chrome App - https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/doceo-center-common-core/aonbogdccnhdiffhepmbeghpfinbfpkp